Collection

Sherbrooke black and white - hope

A propot monument (1 of 1).jpg

Project Overview

Over the years, the city of Sherbrooke has been the subject of many artistic projects. Indeed, there has been no lack of studies, research of all varieties including books on the Queen of the Eastern Townships.​ 

 

However, this is an unusual project: an exhibition of black-and-white photos of Sherbrooke, expanded by citizens' reflections on the theme determined by the initiator - that of -  hope. ​This project differs from those presented previously, as it incorporates the collaboration of various personalities of the City. This complicity is the primary objective of the project's creator, Marcel Morin.​ Insofar as Marcel is concerned, it does not suffice to present only imagery as captured through his camera lense - rather he seeks to collect the personal sentiments of fifty Sherbrookois, who are informed by various environmental spheres, inter alia, political, educational, cultural, business, sports etcetera. ​Marcel's sincere desire is to support his photography of Sherbrooke through the writings of it's inhabitants.  

The imposed theme: hope

These accomplices will be asked to comment on this imposed theme by being inspired by fifty large-format black and white photos that will be proposed as avenues for reflection. What dreams buried in these photos will wake up? There is no doubt that old images (happy or dark) will require to rise to the surface at the sight of these clichés oversized ... What will evoke in accomplices these public places frequented or abandoned? The marriage of some, the graduation of another? The premature departure of a child, a well-guarded hiding place, a secret flushed out?

According to Marcel Morin, the eye of the camera does not catch everything: it directs the gaze towards a direction often unsuspected, it proposes a singular angle of observation, suggests rather than to impose. Here and there, old stones, a neighbourhood school, the tumultuous waters of the Magog, signs that have crossed the time, etc. Every memory contains a hope; every day too. The entire space of this project is entirely devoted to the play of interpretation ...

Presentation of the author of the project

Marcel Morin is a photographer and globetrotter. For fifteen years, he has had the chance to travel around the world: he has traveled from Eastern Europe to South Africa, from Southeast Asia to India and China where he lived for more than ten years. It was there that he discovered street photography. Adept of portraits, he is carried away this time to public places, buildings, streams.

As a photographer, Marcel Morin is the antithesis of purists - for whom he feels a lot of respect - who present their photographs exactly as they were taken. He prefers, for his part, to make use of all the tools available to represent vibrating slices of life. He tries to translate his feelings through stylized photos. His wish: that we stop, let the memories go up, that we seize the message that can transmit a photo, that we consent to an awakening of consciousness.

After an absence of more than forty years, the photographer offers a fresh look on the city of Sherbrooke. Marcel Morin is from La Patrie, in the Eastern Townships. For several years, he has been a tireless collaborator of the Journal de rue de l'Estrie. Its goal is to return all the profits from the sale of the photo album and the exhibition to an organization that helps people who are homeless or at high risk of homelessness. His wish: to allow access to art through a photography studio or other.

Presentation of the project manager

Marcel Morin has appointed Serge Lavigne as Project Manager. The latter will have the mission to reach fifty citizens of Sherbrooke who will agree to get involved in this project by delivering a personal reflection on the theme of hope. In charge of soliciting, he will explain the prime motivation of the creator and collect brief texts (max 50 words / or tweet).


Serge Lavigne is a retired teacher. Specialized in information technology, he is also a photographer, has participated in numerous exhibitions (solo and group) in the region.

Pour moi l’espoir c’est...

Vos pensées sont  inscrites  au  livre  "Sherbrooke  noir et blanc - l’espoir”

Collection

Sherbrooke noir et blanc - l'espoir

A propot monument (1 of 1).jpg

Au fil des ans, la ville de Sherbrooke a été l’objet de nombreux projets artistiques. En effet, il ne manque pas d’études, de recherches de toutes sortes, de livres sur la Reine des Cantons de l’Est.

Toutefois, voici un projet inusité : une exposition de photos en noir et blanc sur Sherbrooke doublée de réflexions citoyennes sur le thème déterminé par l’initiateur, l’espoir. Le projet diffère de tous les autres déjà présentés puisqu’il fera appel à la collaboration de diverses personnalités de la Ville. Cette complicité est l’objectif premier de l’idéateur de ce projet, Marcel Morin. Il ne suffit pas, en ce qui le concerne, de présenter son point de vue par le biais de sa caméra, mais d’aller recueillir le point de vue de cinquante Sherbrookoises et Sherbrookois provenant de différentes sphères du milieu (politique, éducation, culture, affaires, sport, etc.). Joindre les mots aux photos, c’est ce qu’il souhaite profondément.

Le thème imposé : l’espoir

Ces complices ont été appelés à se prononcer sur ce thème imposé en se laissant inspirer par une cinquantaine de photos grand format en noir et blanc qui leur ont été proposées comme pistes de réflexion. Quels rêves enfouis ces photos réveilleront-elles? Il ne fait aucun doute que des images anciennes (heureuses ou sombres) demanderont à remonter à la surface à la vue de ces œuvres picturales surdimensionnées... Qu’ont évoqué chez les complices ces lieux publics fréquentés ou abandonnés? Le mariage des uns, la collation des grades d’un autre? Le départ prématuré d’un enfant, une cachette bien gardée, un secret débusqué?

Selon Marcel Morin, l’œil de la caméra ne capte pas tout : il oriente le regard vers une direction souvent insoupçonnée, il propose un angle d’observation singulier, suggère plutôt que d’imposer. Ici et là, des pierres anciennes, une école de quartier, les eaux tumultueuses de la Magog, des enseignes qui ont traversé le temps, etc. Chaque souvenir contient un espoir; chaque jour aussi. Tout l’espace de ce projet est entièrement consacré au jeu de l’interprétation...

Présentation de l’auteur du projet

Marcel Morin est photographe et globetrotteur. Depuis quinze ans, il a la chance de voyager à travers le monde, il a parcouru l’Europe de l’Est, l’Afrique du Sud, l’Asie du Sud-Est, l’Inde et la Chine où il a vécu durant plus de dix ans. C’est là qu’il a découvert la photographie de rue. Adepte de portraits, il se laisse emporter cette fois vers les lieux publics, les édifices, les cours d’eau.

En tant que photographe, Marcel Morin est aux antipodes des puristes – pour qui il éprouve beaucoup de respect - qui présentent leurs photographies exactement comme elles ont été prises. Il préfère, pour sa part, faire usage de tous les outils disponibles pour rendre vibrantes les tranches de vie qu’il présente. Il cherche à traduire ses sentiments à travers des photos stylisées. Son souhait : qu’on s’arrête, qu’on laisse monter les souvenirs, qu’on saisisse le message que peut transmettre une photo, que l'on consente à un éveil de conscience.

Après une absence de quarante ans, le photographe propose un regard neuf sur la ville de Sherbrooke. Marcel Morin est originaire de La Patrie, dans les Cantons de l’Est. Depuis plusieurs années, il est un collaborateur indéfectible du Journal de rue de l’Estrie. Son objectif est de remettre tous les profits de la vente de l’album de photos et ceux de l’exposition à un organisme qui vient en aide à des personnes itinérantes ou à grand risque d’itinérance. Son vœu : qu’on permette l’accès à l’art par le biais d’un atelier de photographie ou autre.

Présentation du chargé de projet

Marcel Morin s’est adjoint, comme chargé de projet, Serge Lavigne. Ce dernier aura pour mission de rejoindre cinquante citoyennes et citoyens de Sherbrooke qui accepteront de s’impliquer dans ce projet en livrant une réflexion personnelle sur le thème de l’espoir. Chargé du démarchage, il expliquera la motivation première de l’idéateur et colligera les textes.


Serge Lavigne est un enseignant à la retraite. Spécialisé en technologies de l’information, il est aussi photographe, a participé à de nombreuses expositions (en solo et en groupe) dans la région.

Pour moi l’espoir c’est...

Vos pensées sont  inscrites  au  livre  "Sherbrooke  noir et blanc - l’espoir”

Marcel Morin  

Photographe Humaniste  |  Humanist Photographer
Sherbrooke, QC  -  Shanghai, Chine  -  Malaga, Espagne